About the Shahada

The Shahada is the Muslim profession of faith and the first of the ‘Five Pillars’ of Islam.  The word shahada in Arabic means ‘testimony.’ The shahada is to testify to two things:

(1)  Nothing deserves worship except God (Allah).

(2)  Muhammad is the Messenger of God (Allah).

Therefore a Muslim is simply one who bears witness and testifies that “nothing deserves worship except God and Muhammad is the messenger of God.” One becomes a Muslim by making this simple declaration.

لا إله إلا الله محمد رسول الله

Lā ʾilāha ʾillā-llāh, muḥammadun rasūlu-llāh

 There is no god but God and Muhammad is the messenger of God.

One can take the shahada after Friday prayer in the company of Muslims or in a private setting.  Masjid Al Fatiha can also provide a Shahada certificate for the facilitation of the fifth pillar of Islam: Haj – the Muslim pilgrimage to Mecca.

Please use the contact page for further information and scheduling.